Crafts / Life

175 Days In

Some of you may have been wondering what I’ve been up to the last month or so.

Well, to borrow a phrase from my mother-in-law, we’ve been in the trenches.  I didn’t know after the Froggy-Toady story that I would be taking a leave of absence from my blog, but you know what they say, if you can’t say something nice, don’t say anything at all.   I didn’t have anything nice to say.  We were in the trenches.

But now, we are only 3 days away from Rich coming home!  It’s only a mid-tour, only home for about 19 days, but HOME!!

Getting Ready

It has been a long six months.  Everyone is very excited.  I’ve been busy this past week figuring out what we’re going to wear to the airport, what food we need to bring in the car, what are we going to eat the first week he is home, and that sort of stuff.  He’s flying into Atlanta because it was significantly less expensive to do so.  This means we have a bit of a drive, but we don’t mind.  Lizzie is a fantastic traveler.

I decided for the airport that I wanted Lizzie and I to be nicely dressed but still comfortable and practical.  I wanted us to be subtly patriotic without looking like a walking American flag.  I figure that Rich is not coming home from a deployment so we don’t plan on standing there with flags and a poster.  He won’t be in uniform.  So Lizzie and I are both wearing navy.  I have yellow shoes and jewelry and Lizzie has a navy and red bracelet she wants to wear.

The dress

This dress is remarkably comfortable and for the first time in my life I decided to wear flats.  This is a whole new look for me, but I thought it made the outfit classy casual.  I’m still trying to decide what to do with my hair and whether or not to bring my camera.  I’ll probably put my hair up because 1. It is so hot and sticky down here.  2. I don’t have time for a haircut and I want to hide the split ends.  I know. I know.  Rich won’t care about Any of these things, but I’d like to look nice when he shows up.

I was not planning on making the sign at all, but one of my friends thought that we should.  I still wasn’t going to, but then today I realized that Lizzie needed a project.  She was so excited about Daddy coming home that none of her toys were interesting to her today.   Unfortunately, I had grand ideas about the poster and after five minutes it became more of a Mommy Project than a Lizzie Project.

For one thing, I thought it would be neat if the words were in the shape of the country of Korea and the state of Alabama.   The intricate cutting instantly made this a Mommy project.  Lizzie became number one Glue-er.

Poster Details

She did cut out the little airplane and all the yellow rectangles for the dotted path.  But then when it came time for the rest of the words, there was no way she could do that.  Well before this point, I was already thinking, Why couldn’t I just let her make a simple poster??  There is another piece of foam board she could use to make a more personal one, but she already has plans to turn that into a treasure map.

Oh well.  This was the last project.  I still feel like the poster needs some more color or a border or something.  Lizzie wants to decorate it with glitter…should I let her?  It sounds messy.

Poster

Tomorrow is church and probably a bit of laundry and some other cleaning.  Then Monday Lizzie is spending most of the day at friend’s house and I’m going to get food ready for our trip.  And then TUESDAY is the day!!!

Thank you all for your support these last six months.  It has been a struggle.  Somethings we have done well and other areas have been failures.  I hope that during this halfway point we will have time to relax and reflect so that we will have renewed strength for the second half of this year.

Signature

“Not only so, but we also rejoice in our sufferings, because we know that suffering produces perseverance; perseverance, character; and character, hope.  And hope does not disappoint us, because God has poured out his love into our hearts by the Holy Spirit, whom he has given us.” (Romans 5:3-5, NIV)

***Update***

This was our glitter compromise.  It was a little messy with the dog prints.  Thankfully, I was able to keep Lou on the tile for the whole process.  Lizzie and I love the results.

Update Poster

4 thoughts on “175 Days In

  1. Alexia, first off I love the scripture. It is one of my favorite ones I have used to sustain myself through struggles. I am so happy ya’ll are going to be together again. The sign is perfect and I love the idea about the words shaped like the two destinations. I think Lizzie’s airplane is great! Her cutting skills are so much more advanced now. What a great holiday for a home coming-the 4th celebrates our independence and all of you sacrifice to keep us free. I am so proud of Rich and you and Lizzie who love and support him every day. I am continually praying for ya’ll. Love, Mom Machina

    • Thank you!
      The nice thing with the 4th is that we can BBQ and see fireworks but there isn’t an huge To-Do like a birthday or Christmas would be. I think that’s overwhelming. Just a one day holiday, which is nice.

  2. Dear Alexia,” Wow”, the dress and accessories look awesome. The poster that you and Lizzie designed is wonderful and of course very creative.
    I can only imaging the smile on Rich’s face when he sees his GIRLS.

    Enjoy your time together and have a wonderful 4th.

    Love you 3

Leave a Reply

