Photography

Daydreams

Snowy Days

It’s so hot here.  So today we are dreaming of snowy days, long sleeve shirts, wood burning stoves, cozy blankets, a good book and a cup of coffee.  :) Anyone else, agree?  Bring on Winter!  I know my brother-in-law in Colorado had snow all the way into June so maybe they aren’t Quite ready for winter, but I am.  Actually today, we were dreaming of our move and a new house and new potential.  Whenever we talk about moving, first question from Lizzie “Does it snow there?”  If there answer is ‘yes’, then she says “oh let’s go There!” but if the answer is ‘no’, then she says “eh, maybe we shouldn’t go there.”  I agree.  I don’t want to be anywhere where it never snows.

Anyway…………

Just wanted to give a follow up on my grad school decision and share some of my favorite instagram pictures from the last few months.  I finally decided this year was not my year for grad school.  The more I tried to get financial aid and the more I talked it over, the more I realized that this was not the time.  The GI Bill is only a good option is you want to go to school full time.  I only wanted to take this one class and it would be a waste of the benefit for just one class.  However, I feel more confident about my academic standing in general since I did get accepted (without GRE scores even) and I feel like in the future it will be more doable.  I have a lot on my plate with Rich gone, starting homeschooling, and a move in December/January time frame.  And ultimately, I felt like it was going to be a financial burden for us that wouldn’t be worth it.

Elsa and Anna Ready for gymnastics

So, in the meantime, until I can go to school full time under the GI bill I decided to spend the next 6-9 months focusing on my photography.  I finally had a few minutes to start reading The Busy Girl’s Guide to Digital Photography book that my mom gave me back in March.  In her introduction, she talks a lot about being in control of the camera and not letting it drive you.  When I got to this point, I felt like it was talking about my photography to a tee:

You can see the shot, you know how you want it to look, but somehow it just isn’t coming out the way you want it to.  You’ve even gone online and done a few tutorials.  You’ve had some success and achieved some really good shots, but you got there more by luck than judgement.   […] Your photography is going nowhere.  That’s because you’re back on auto and your camera is in control.

I don’t photograph in full auto and almost never did except when I first got the camera.  I mostly use the Av or Tv settings and then in some of the sub-settings I leave in auto….I know this is why I still get frustrated about lighting and blurriness.  I tried to use full-up manual and got discouraged.  So I do have my work cut out for me.  I need to practice.  I’m looking forward to some cooler temperature because I think it is easier to go out when it isn’t miserably hot.

Kids in capes Her own style

So I’m hoping to increase my camera confidence and at the same time continue to work on my portfolio.  I’m toying with the idea of a new blog that would be more studio/gallery style.  I’m stilling sketching it out and trying to do some research.  I made some mistakes when I set up this blog and so I’m trying to do the next one better.  Primarily, I wish I had not gone with the free wordpress.com service and instead had done some of the work to set up one through the wordpress.org and then have my own hosting service.  I feel like it is complicated so I got a book and I’ve been researching so the next one (if I decided to go for it) is better.

I'm a diver Mis-matchy

Sigh….sometimes I really feel like the struggling artist.  I have ideas and dreams, but I’m still learning and trying to figure out how to get from where I am to where I want to be.

I know these instagram pictures are not fine art, but they are of my favorite subject and in an easy to share format which has its own merit.  I do think I’ll be able to get better, but it will take some time.

Hope you all have a great weekend and are staying cool!  Maybe one more snowy picture will help…. (This is January 2012 – Battle Ground, WA.  The last time we lived in a snowy place.)

January 2012

Signature

2 thoughts on “Daydreams

  1. Alexia, I am right there with you on the wishing for winter. In several of these photos Lizzie reminds me of Rich at this age. The way you described the challenges of your photography sounds like mine with watercolor. I find the creative process is often a struggle from the inception of an idea to the becoming of the idea. I often wish it were easier but like anything beautiful in life creating is hard work. I have to tell myself to enjoy the getting there since that is where the soul is happiest. Wishing you beautiful photos. Love you, Pam

    • Thank you!
      And you know, she is so mechanically minded; constantly taking things apart to see how they work; constantly crafting and building. I told Rich just the other day that she was His daughter. :)

Leave a Reply

