Life

Quick Kansas Update

Through the gate

It has been a string of dreary days here in flyover country.  No snow though.  I’m sure it’s coming at some point.  Lizzie is convinced we will have a white Christmas.  Only time will tell.

I don’t have too much to report yet.  We are still waiting for our house.  We are supposed to close on Friday.  I sure hope so.  We have been staying in this unfurnished house with only a few suitcases, an air mattress, and some cookware.  At Bible study on Thursday, we borrowed a table, 3 chairs, and a crockpot.  Having somewhere to sit has been awesome and last night I made a beef stew that even Lizzie ate.  But we are ready for our own place.  We’re still happy with the house and the property.

Since we haven’t wanted to hang around an empty house, we have done a little bit of exploring.  Milford Lake which is the state’s largest lake is only a few miles from the house.  It’s beautiful over there and there are several running/hiking/equestrian trails.  We went the day after Thanksgiving and the weather was perfect that day.

Milford Lake

Lightning Tree

Goldilocks

And we have been able to go out to the property a few times.  Right now though we are just in a holding pattern.   Everyone is tired.  By the time we close, we will have been in temporary living for 4 weeks and without our stuff for 5 weeks.  We are hopefully that they will be able to deliver our stuff out of storage quickly but the email we got when it went into storage said it could take 2-5 weeks.  I think I will go actually crazy if it takes that long.

Lou

The real salt in the wound is that it is Christmas time.  Everyone else we know is decorating, baking, sending cards and shopping.  I think I’ll be able to do a little baking if nothing else.  There is this Pumpkin Pull Apart Bread that I have planned for Christmas morning.  I’ve already decided I probably wont be able to do Christmas cards this year.  I might try to still but I know that it will be hard with boxes everywhere.  I will probably just pick one or two things and do those things and then not worry about the rest.

training the dog

I know Christmas isn’t all about the baking and shopping.  It’s not about the Season or the spirit of Christmas.  It’s about celebrating the birth of Jesus.  It’s so easy for me to get caught up in the negative–about what I don’t have.  Like the hymn says I’m So prone to wander.  I’m so thankful for the blessings I have this Christmas.  I have Rich at Home!  We are buying a house!  I’m getting a house for Christmas!  The fact that we are even in the financial position to buy a house is overwhelming.  One Christmas activity we were able to do is this week I started teaching Lizzie some Christmas carols.  She sort of knew part of a few, but I wanted her to be able to enjoy singing them and understand the meaning.  This week we learned Hark the Herald Angels Sing which is my favorite Christmas hymn.  We started Angels We have heard on High.  Next week I think we’ll do Joy to the World and maybe What Child is This?

Anyway, we are without internet at least for another week.  I’m writing this at Starbucks with Rich and Lizzie here too.  How is everyone else doing?  I feel like I’ve been completely out of touch.  I hope things are going well.  I think soon we will be able to be normal again.

Signature

Hail the heav’n-born Prince of Peace!
Hail the Son of Righteousness!
Light and life to all He brings
Ris’n with healing in His wings
Mild He lays His glory by
Born that man no more may die
Born to raise the sons of earth
Born to give them second birth
Hark! The herald angels sing
“Glory to the newborn King!”

Leave a Reply

