Life / Photography / Running/Fitness

Quiet Sunday

Our new church here in Kansas is a newly planted Church.  We meet in the afternoon for worship because we share a facility with the Mennonite Church.  The Mennonite Church building is a hundred years old and made out of the favorite building material of the region, limestone.  And as it turns out, it apparently does not heat well in extreme temperatures.  So last Sunday, church was canceled because of the cold.  We were surprised, but we had been trying to decided if we should go to church because of the snow and freezing temps.  We were concerned with icy bridges, especially on the drive home in the dark.

Instead, we listened online to the sermon we missed the week prior because Lizzie was sick and had a quiet Sunday morning before going sledding.

This was our first opportunity to try out Lizzie’s sled from Christmas and she had a blast.  We couldn’t find a good hill near the house because we hadn’t gotten enough snow to cover the long grass.  Rich pulled Lizzie on the sled and it’s amazing how warm you can get doing that sort of work.  I ran along beside them snapping pictures.  I just brought out the point-and-shoot because sometimes it’s just easier.

In my last post, I mentioned my two goals for the new year: graduate school and starting a new blog.  I’m happy to announce that I’ve started both!  Right now, I’m studying for the GRE Math Subject Test and plan on taking it in April.  I have 13 weeks and 6 days to study.  I think it is plenty of time, but it’s a little daunting when I look at the amount of material I need to review.

And then last Sunday, I also launched my new blog: The Picture Runner.  It is a running and photography blog.  I run with my DSLR and take pictures along the way then document my runs and pictures.  I also write about running related fitness and photography.  I had been waiting for a good day to do my first run and it was while we were sledding that I realized I could actually start.  I hope you like it.  It has a little different feel than helper and defender, but it’s still me writing and so in some respects it’s the same.

We had a fantastic time in the snow.  This is why Lizzie wanted to move to Kansas.

Rich let Lizzie get behind the wheel on the way back….this was a dirt road and obviously he had his foot on the gas and brake the whole time.  She was just steering….according to her, she is a Great Driver.

From six to sixteen in no time.  Goodness…slow the clock!!  :)  But in all seriousness, I love these two.  So happy to be a family again.  It’s much warmer today than last week so we are looking forward to church this afternoon.  I’m still trying to get used to that Sunday schedule.  It is a little odd, but it makes for a quiet Sunday which is how I like it.  Now the snow is mostly gone and we are ready for more….just no more snow on Sundays. :)

Signature

2 thoughts on “Quiet Sunday

Leave a Reply

